Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

This weeks photo challenge at the Daily Post is My 2012 in Pictures !  Here is my year in pictures – click on them for larger versions .  These are not necessarily my favorite pics from the year but they are representative of events through the year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In January I was testing out a new Olympus Tough point and shoot camera on a sunny, snowy day near my home.

2012 February

In February I was one of many photographers at the 19th annual Eaglewatch in Sheffield Mills, Nova Scotia.  Also see my entry in LetsBeWild.com’s weekly  photo challenge for Flying.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

March saw us trying a winter camping trip to stay in a yurt at Kejimkujik National Park – some unexpected warm weather saw us hiking in +25 C in shorts and t-shirts – so much for winter camping – still a great time though!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

April 14th  2012 was the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic and Halifax remembered with Night of the Bells – an outdoor tribute concert.  It was a chilly evening.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The weather was improving in May and it was time to get out on the bike trails This pic was taken at a rest stop at the end of Lake Charles – Happy Birthday to me – I bought myself a new bike this year too !

2012 June

My son has played in the local PlayOn street hockey tournament for the last few years – this year was no exception – This is a great two day tournament in June that has been getting bigger and bigger every year with a dozen divisions and hundreds of teams!

2012 July

July saw us travelling to Labrador to see my parents and celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary !

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

August means Deep Sky Weekend at Kejimkujik National Park – this year the weather sort of cooperated and the clouds parted for a couple of nights of star gazing and storytelling.   That was followed by a couple of more days and nights canoeing the Frozen Ocean Lake Loop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Labour Day weekend in September I completed my first ever “metric century” – that means cycling 100 kms in one day – in just under 5 hours actually !

2012 10 13 Cape Split 53

I have been wanting to do the Cape Split Hiking Trail for a few years now and this October I finally made it!  It was a cool windy day but there were a lot of people on this 6 km trail.

2012 November

My brother got married in Banff, Alberta in November – that place is a photographers dream !  This was my first (and hopefully not last) trip to this area.  The scenery is amazing !

2012 December

December means Merry Christmas from my home to yours !

Gallery | This entry was posted in Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

  1. LY says:

    I heard Banff is amazing, but didn’t realize how amazing until i saw your picture. Will definitely plan a trip up there.

  2. Angeline M says:

    I’m exhausted just reading about all of your activities this year 🙂
    Have a wonderful New Year!

  3. adinparadise says:

    Great pics, and congrats on your ‘metric century’. You’ve had quite an adventurous year. Happy 2013 to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

